Flying noodle – Miyazaki, Japan


This is a follow up of my previous post, „Takachiho, where Japanese myths were born… 高千穂、宮崎

Right next to the Takachiho Gorge there were some intriguing food stalls. At this place, ‘you snooze or you lose’ had a new meaning. That’s right, the noodle floated along the bamboo, but not into your bowl… if you didn’t catch it in time, they just fly off the cliff. This style of serving udon was the regional specialty, nagashi somen.

Thanks to my hubby for the demo, this was the 3rd take… had a beer, that was not helping lol

Where is this place? Takachiho Gorge – refer to my previous post

Like udon? Check out the making of udon at Nakano school – Kotohira, Kagawa

Coming soon: Devil’s wash board, Aoshima. Also in Miyazaki prefecture, Japan.

Guest Post by Joyce Belfort

localgirlforeignland-profile-200x200

Joyce

Tend to travel slowly. Mainly travel solo or with my spouse. I love exploring low cost local experiences. Spending a lot is not my idea of fun. Let’s get real, I am a regular girl with limited budget. If affordable travel is your thing, I am your girl

The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author.

If you want to be Guest Writer for look around! click on photo below.

mopana-be-my-guest-post-02

Click on photo

One thought on “Flying noodle – Miyazaki, Japan

  1. Pingback: Today on Look around! | look around!

Leave a comment