there are social graces


Theresa Barker - Lab Notes

Inspired by “A bug on my window” – Monica, “Look around!” WordPress.com blog.

“When I look out the window and say green, I mean sea green,/I mean moss green, I mean gray, I mean pale and also/electrically flecked with white and I mean green/in its damp way of glowing off a leaf.” –  Kathryn Nuernberger, “Translations”

Critter On My Window by Cindy Mc is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.Creative Commons License
Critter On My Window by Cindy Mc is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

I

God gave her a long body and feathery antennae.  Her stretchy-thin legs sense a change in the weather a few seconds into the future.  Here she rests, against the cold-smooth glass of window, the foreground of everyone’s background.

A swath of street, a clump of house, a sprout of tree hover behind her.

Her breath comes through the spiracles in her thorax, her blood cradles the organs, her heart dots the medial line along…

View original post 499 more words

One thought on “there are social graces

  1. Pingback: look around!

Leave a Reply

