Delad glädje, är dubbel glädje – Shared joy is a double joy


mopana-look-around-weekend-magazine-02

Guest Post

by Maria Jansson

      I’m a true gypsy soul, hoping to one day find a place that I would like to call home for a longer time (not sure if forever exists.)

     My grandmother gave me my first camera when I was 5 years old. Her gift, and adventurous spirit greatly influenced the choices I’ve made in life. I’ve been taking pictures almost every day since she gave me that old Hasselblad camera. You can find a collection of my best photos, available as art prints, in my gallery.

       I grew up in a small mountain village in Sweden. I have traveled extensively in Europe, and the US. My grandmother and I made many trips together. She was 78 years young during our last big adventure to Alaska and Hawaii. (Even though she always claimed that she was 17 years old when people asked..)

   mopana-horse-eyeMy lifelong passion for horses, going back to before my first memory. There is simply something magical about horses! I do different kinds of photography for fun, but FINE ART EQUINE PHOTOGRAPHY is in my soul. I put a lot of effort into capture unforgettable moments. My signature is presenting vivid imagery, with minimal editing, only enhancing the natural light. I do not alter backgrounds, or “flaws”. As an artist I choose to share LIFE au natural, and as colorful as possible. I’m using a professional camera, that allows for generous printing of large wall art, to be cherished for many years to come.

      I find it challenging to draw a line between work and play. Lately I’ve realized that I don’t have to. I can pursue my career as a photographer, and be working towards my goal of having a small homestead on a few acres. I’ve dreamed about having a homestead ever since I was a little girl. Now, in my mid 30’s it’s a goal that I work towards every day. I currently don’t have the acreage, that I know that I will have soon. I do have some space in my backyard, and this summer my amazing 4 year old daughter and I, grew the majority of our food ourselves. As fall approached, we built two greenhouses. One is for vegetables; tomatoes, belle-pepper, zucchini, and kitchen herbs. Greenhouse number two is to store my container fig, and olive trees over the winter. I have more than 20 trees in 15 gallon containers; peach, apple, pear, cherry, pomegranate, olives, figs, and plum. (I also have some tiny walnut trees, but they are more on an experimental level!) All the trees are still young, 1-4 year old. When I do get some land to plant them on, they will already be well on their way to produce. I feel that I am getting a little closer to my dream every day, by seeing them there in my backyard. When I start out on my homestead, I would like to be able to produce the majority of our vegetables/fruits right away. I have spent a lot of time in very rural areas, and I love the simple country life.

     I would like to see one of my favorite Swedish proverb’s, becoming a signature of my life, through my blog; Delad glädje, är dubbel glädje, meaning Shared joy is a double joy. Your comments and ideas are always welcome!

Yours,

Maria

look around!

By the same Author: Tiny 2 – Dream

mopana-my-exhibition

Click on photo to see my Drawing Exhibition

____Maria____

      I’m a true gypsy soul, hoping to one day find a place that I would like to call home for a longer time (not sure if forever exists.)

My grandmother gave me my first camera when I was 5 years old. Her gift, and adventurous spirit greatly influenced the choices I’ve made in life. I’ve been taking pictures almost every day since she gave me that old Hasselblad camera. You can find a collection of my best photos, available as art prints, in my gallery.

The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author.

If you want to be Guest Writer for look around! click on photo below.

mopana-be-my-guest-post-02

9 thoughts on “Delad glädje, är dubbel glädje – Shared joy is a double joy

Leave a Reply

