As told to my friend Judith


mopana-look-around-weekend-magazine-02

Guest Post

by Theresa Barker

     

mopana-maple-leaf

The photo Floating Maple Leaf by Daniel Burka is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

       He said he would stay with me until the maple leaves dropped. All summer we danced and laughed under the green canopy of maples, kept company by small birds scattered among the branches, warmed by the sun’s speckled heat and the soft fresh emotion that drifted between us. He spoke his alien voweled words to my listening ears, I breathed my terrestrian consonantic syllables to his, and our story together unfurled below the protecting trees.

     Gradually the green shelter above us became yellow, became orange, then curled to brown. In a breeze one afternoon the leaves fell like straw, sifting downward, baring the brown branches. Only the solid waled trunks of the standing maples remained.

      Inspired by Monica’s recent lovely post of autumn leaves in the park, Shooting in the Park.

look around!

By the same Author: It’s only words

mopana-my-exhibition

Click on photo to see my Drawing Exhibition

__Theresa__

      I have been writing science fiction and literary novels and short stories for about twenty years. I have completed two novels – both unpublished as of yet – and a number of short stories, some of which have been published in small sf publications.

      In my “other life,” I have a Ph.D. in Engineering, and I do scientific writing for NOAA to help heal the oceans.

The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author.

If you want to be Guest Writer for look around! click on photo below.

mopana-be-my-guest-post-02

One thought on “As told to my friend Judith

Leave a Reply

