Darkness


My dear friends, my neighborhood is in a total darkness like on Ceausescu’s times. One hour ago the lights were turned off and since then nothing happened. I write this post on my phone :).

Out there is dark and silence. Nobody on the street right now. It’s so dark that you could cut the darkness with a knife :). And the silence is really noisy. I can hear only the tic-tac from the watches. This photo was taken 45 minutes ago. I want you to see how dark is here.

image

Darkness

Those lights are from some cars 🙂

We wait but we don’t know when we will have light again. They said probably in 3 hours. But what can people do in their houses without light? To have light, people use candle lights.

UPDATE

Finally, after 1 hour and a half, we have light.

Oleeee 🙂

34 thoughts on “Darkness

  1. The same thing happened in my neighbourhood a couple of months ago. Then one kind lady went out onto her balcony and shouted into the darkness: “I called the power plant! The light will be back on in two hours!” And then a lot of people, invisible in the dark, started shouting back: “Thank you! Thank you!” It was very nice 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Back in ’90s, in Romania “light off” was something like eating bread. Ceausescu used to turn light off twice a day. In the morning and late afternoon. I know from my father’s stories.

      Like

  2. Whatever the cause or reason for the darkness you have, I hope you know it’s quite different from the darkness your parents had under the Ceausescu rule. We had such darkness under the military rule and I know how it is to live in that kind of darkness. Ceausescu visited our country in 1975. I worked then as a young reporter, and I remember one of the important discussions we had about him was how difficult it was to spell and pronounce his name. Another thing I remember was the smile that was put on his face apparently by a great effort. The next time I saw him on TV was his body lying together with that of his wife on the ground as a result of the Romanian Revolution. I think it was in December of 1989. Whoever it was, it was reported here that there was the man who first shouted against the dictator in the crowd that was about to hear him speak. Because of that brave man, how lucky you are today because you can comment in any way you like about the darkness you have today. Light up a candle. I can see your beautiful face. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thamk you, AshiAkira. Yes, we are lucky. Now we can say whatever we want. Yes, the Romanian Revolution was in December of 1989 and I know a lot of stories about it and about Ceausescu from my father. Who, by the way, work in television since 1993. He was reporter like you for many years, sport reporter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I realize I misread the last 2 sentences of your comment (I thought you were asking me a question) , and I feel very embarrassed. I hope you will forgive me. You are fortunate to have a father who is able to tell you how it was to live under the rule of a dictator. You know that there are still many dictators in this world today and millions upon millions of people are suffering or dying under their rules. I believe a solution to this problem is not by a violence but by promoting awareness of all the people on earth. I want to tell you there is an important role for an intelligent person like you to play in this regard and you’ll remember that. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        • You don’t have to be embarrassed. Not to me, Ashi. I know that there are a lot of dictators and I know how people are suffering. But I also know that, in December 1989, Romanians had fighted for their freedom and they had succeed. We have to tell them about how other nations has succeeded and we must find a way to help them to have a better life.

          Liked by 1 person

              • I’m afraid I’m really on the same boat as you are. Only thing I believe for now is that we can start with exchange of views with as many people as possible. This is why, by the way, I have my blog in English. And I think the poetry is a good tool by which to communicate from heart to heart with other people. I’m happy to say that I have now nearly 2,000 followers from about 100 different countries, with some of whom I’m sure we are moving toward a common goal together. Very, very slowly yet it is a progress. 🙂

                Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

